THE GIST BROOKFIELD R-III SCHOOL DISTRICT OPEN SESSION --- REGULAR BOARD MEETING APRIL 18. 2023

The Brookfield R-III Board of Education, Brookfield, Missouri met in open session on Tuesday, April 18, 2023, beginning at 5:30 p.m. in person in the HS Media Center. The following board members were present: Jim McIntyre, Blake DeVoy, Jered Wallace, Noel Staddie, Ryan Burns, and Galen Hicks. David Shaw was absent.

President McIntyre called the meeting to order and led those in attendance in the Pledge of Allegiance. The board approved unanimously the Agenda and the Consent Agenda items.

Under program evaluations Mrs. Smith reviewed the Career & Technical Education programs offered through the LCACTC. Mr. Drew Wilkerson, the district's welding instructor, was present with two of his students. They reported on a ramp project they completed for the Presbyterian Church recently. Mrs. Smith also reported on graduation, which is set for May 14, 2023, at 3:00 p.m.

Upcoming calendar dates and finance reports from 03/31/23 were reviewed by the board.

Dr. Collins reported that the six nominees for the General Hurlbut Teacher of the Year Award are: Elementary – Meagan Clarkson, Karissa Creel, Marla Trentham Secondary – Paige Corf, Bill Ehrich, Joel Magnuson The selection committee will meet soon and choose a winner from each division. The banquet is May 10, 2023, at 5:30 p.m.

Dr. Collins reported that delivery of the roof-top unites for the MS/Elementary gym is expected very soon, perhaps as early as April 24th. He will keep the board updated on this matter.

More work has been done to correct the plumbing problems in the new concession stand area at the track and ballfield. Baum's did an excellent job on the repairs. Dr. Collins will be sending this bill to Irvinbilt.

The board held a second reading of MSBA Policy Update 23A. No formal action was taken.

Dr. Collins presented the final CSIP Plan 2023-2026 for it's review. The committee and administrators met many hours developing this new plan over the past several months. The board unanimously approved the 2023-2026 CSIP Plan as presented.

Dr. Collins and President McIntyre presented board member and board treasurer Jered Wallace with a brass bell and thanked him for his twelve years of service on the board. Mr. Wallace thanked the board for the bell and for all their support and friendship over the past several years and then excused himself from the meeting.

The meeting adjourned in order to reorganize the board due to the April 4, 2023 election. Dr. Collins and Becky Stephens were appointed as Interim Chairperson and Becky Stephens, respectively. Dr. Collins called the meeting back to order and reported that since we only had three people run for the three board seats, no election was necessary; therefore, no certification of the election results is necessary. The new board members for terms ending in April 2026 are David Shaw, Blake DeVoy, and Samantha Howell.

Becky Stephens administered the Oath of Office to Blake DeVoy and Samantha Howell. David Shaw was absent so he will be sworn in at the next open board meeting.

Dr. Collins called for nominations for Board President. Director DeVoy moved to nominate Jim McIntyre for Board President. Director Hicks seconded the motion. There being no further nominations, Jim McIntyre was elected Board President by acclamation.

President McIntyre called for nominations for Board Vice President. Director Hicks moved to nominate Blake DeVoy for Board Vice President. Director Burns seconded the motion. There being no further nominations, Blake DeVoy was elected Vice President by acclamation.

President McIntyre called for nominations for Board Treasurer. Director DeVoy moved to nominate Ryan Burns for Board Treasurer. Director Staddie seconded the motion. There being no further nominations, Ryan Burns was elected Treasurer by acclamation.

President McIntyre called for nominations for Board Secretary. Director DeVoy moved to nominate Becky Stephens for Board Secretary. Director Staddie seconded the motion. There being no further nominations, Becky Stephens was elected Secretary by acclamation.

President McIntyre called the meeting back to order.

Dr. Collins reviewed the current budget and said that both expenses and revenues are looking good. We should end the year in the black. Next year will be tighter, but it looks good also, with a small deficit of around \$50,000 projected, but that is a very conservative projection so we may very well end in the black next year also.

The board unanimously approved the MSBA Full Maintenance Service Agreement for 2023-24, at a cost of \$3339 for the entire year.

The board unanimously approved the 2023-24 Career Ladder Plan, as presented.

Dr. Collins gave a legislative update and administrative reports were provided to the board.

There being no further business to discuss, the meeting adjourned at 7:10 p.m. and the board moved into closed session. During closed session, the board unanimously approved a letter of resignation from Katie Ramirez, MS Science teacher, at the end of the current school year. The board also voted unanimously to hire David Davis as a HS science teacher for the 2023-24 school year.